About the Society

The International Society of Music Information Retreival is a non-profit organization seeking to advance the access, organization, and understanding of music information. As a field, music information retrieval focuses on the research and development of computational systems to help humans better make sense of this data, drawing from a diverse set of disciplines, including, but my no means limited to, music theory, computer science, psychology, neuroscience, library science, electrical engineering, and machine learning.

More formally, the objects of the Corporation are:

  1. to foster the exchange of ideas between and among members whose activities, though diverse, stem from a common interest in music information retrieval,
  2. to stimulate research, development, and improvement in teaching in all branches of music information retrieval,
  3. to encourage publication and distribution of theoretical, empirical, and applied studies,
  4. to cooperate with representatives of other organizations and disciplines toward the furtherance of music information retrieval, and
  5. to support and encourage diversity in membership and the disciplines involved as a fundamental aspect of the society.

ISMIR was incorporated in Canada on July 4, 2008. It was previously run by a Steering Committee.

Organizing Documents

Officers (2016-2017)

  • President: Fabien Gouyon, Pandora, USA
  • President-elect: Emilia Gómez, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona
  • Secretary: Eric J. Humphrey, Spotify, USA
  • Treasurer: Xiao Hu, University of Hong Kong, China
  • Member-at-large: Amélie Anglade, Germany
  • Member-at-large: Meinard Müller, International Audio Laboratories Erlangen, Germany
  • Member-at-large: Geoffroy Peeters, IRCAM, France
  • Student member: Andy Sarroff, Dartmouth College, USA

Past Steering Committee Members and Officers

  • David Bainbridge, University of Waikato, New Zealand
  • Thierry Bertin-Mahieux, Columbia University, USA
  • Donald Byrd, Indiana University, USA
  • Elaine Chew, University of Southern California, USA
  • Tim Crawford, Goldsmiths, University of London, United Kingdom
  • Simon Dixon, Queen Mary University of London, United Kingdom
  • J. Stephen Downie, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Jon Dunn, Indiana University, USA
  • Michael Fingerhut, IRCAM, Paris, France
  • Ichiro Fujinaga, McGill University, Montréal, Canada
  • Masataka Goto, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan
  • Holger Hoos, University of British Columbia, British Columbia, Canada
  • Jin Ha Lee, University of Washington, USA
  • Kjell Lemström, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Beth Logan, Intel Corporation
  • Connie Mayer, University of Maryland, USA
  • Andreas Rauber, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
  • George Tzanetakis, University of Victoria, Canada
  • Anja Volk, Universiteit Utrecht, The Netherlands
  • Frans Wiering, Universiteit Utrecht, The Netherlands